Search
  • Yelena McCafferty

2011: Public Holidays in Russia


Happy New Year! And while most of Europe is now back at work, the first working day in Russia this month will be 11th January. I thought it might be useful to give a full list of public holidays in Russia in 2011 as it would potentially prevent any confusion or misunderstanding if a foreign company tries to contact an office in Russia only to find an irresponsive phone line at the other end. So here we go:

23rd February, Wednesday, - Defender of the Fatherland Day

8th March, Tuesday, - International Women’s Day

1st May, Sunday, - Spring and Labour Day

2nd May, Monday, is a day off as May 1st falls on Sunday

9th May, Monday – Victory Day

12th June, Sunday, - Russia Day

13th June, Monday, is a day off in lieu of the previous Sunday.

4th November, Friday, - Unity Day.

Interestingly, Easter is Russia is a religious holiday, it is not a state holiday. That’s why even though according to the Russian Orthodox calendar this year it falls on Sunday, 24th April, Monday 25th April is a normal working day. The last working day of the year in Russia is 31st December. Unlike in Europe, there are no public holidays in Russia in December as Christmas is celebrated on 7th January. Merry Russian Christmas! С Рождеством Христовым!

[Tip: To use our Russian translation service, call us on 0207 0436940 or email enquiry@talkrussian.com]

#Russianholidays